Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative

Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative

David Brock

Language: English

Pages: 352

ISBN: 0812930991

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub

Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative

David Brock

Language: English

Pages: 352

ISBN: 0812930991

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestler’s The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painful break with it.

David Brock pilloried Anita Hill in a bestseller. His reporting in The American Spectator as part of the infamous “Arkansas Project” triggered the course of events that led to the historic impeachment trial of President Clinton. Brock was at the center of the right-wing dirty tricks operation of the Gingrich era–and a true believer–until he could no longer deny that the political force he was advancing was built on little more than lies, hate, and hypocrisy.

In Blinded By the Right, Brock, who came out of the closet at the height of his conservative renown, tells his riveting story from the beginning, giving us the first insider’s view of what Hillary Rodham Clinton called “the vast right-wing conspiracy.” Whether dealing with the right-wing press, the richly endowed think tanks, Republican political operatives, or the Paula Jones case, Brock names names from Clarence Thomas on down, uncovers hidden links, and demonstrates how the Republican Right’s zeal for power created the poisonous political climate that culminated in George W. Bush’s election.

Already making national headlines, David Brock writes with stunning candor about a fascinating but deeply disturbing period of American politics. Blinded By the Right is a classic political memoir of our times.

A Man in Love (My Struggle, Book 2)

Marvellous - Neil Baldwin: My Story

The Ethical Butcher: How Thoughtful Eating Can Change Your World

Min Kamp 3

Catch Me a Colobus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Arnaud’s impressive, glass-enclosed executive suite, where we munched on Pepperidge Farm Goldfish served in silver bowls and listened to Arnaud denounce the DMC. If we were having trouble getting big-name interviews, Arnaud would bark to his secretary, “Get me Jack Kemp on the phone,” and we’d have our quote. Jack Kemp, a veteran guru of supply-side tax cuts for the rich, was one of our heroes. Like him, we were serious about ideas, or, more tellingly, what we called “the battle of ideas.” We

called Clinton at the woman’s home, he said Clinton stammered, “Oh, God, God, God. What did you tell [Hillary]?” When Clinton returned to the mansion, he and Hillary had a profane dustup, in which Hillary supposedly shrieked at Bill, “I need to be fucked more than twice a year!” The interview grew increasingly farcical as the troopers described Clinton’s method of eating apples whole, core and all, and Hillary’s habit of calling from her law firm and ordering the troopers to fetch her feminine

stereotypes and engaging in third-grade psychologizing. It’s particularly dismaying that the New York Times would publish such a vulgar attack, and it will be interesting to see if the mainstream media regard it as acceptable because it was aimed at a conservative.” As I studied Adam’s words, I could see the tactical advantages to outing myself at this moment. By dishonestly moving the focus onto Rich, I could take the sting out of his charges of misogyny and get the monkey of my sexuality off my

complaints to harass the Clinton administration, a marked shift from its prior concerns with substantive issues like tort reform and property rights. As a high-profile Clinton enemy, Landmark avoided stepping into the Jones case publicly, so as not to taint it. Landmark, however, was active behind the scenes. With his face twisted into its persistent unpleasant contortion, Levin told me that he and Landmark’s president, Jerry Jones, who was a close friend of Spectator board member David

Larry’s generation of conservatives, who were steeped in conservative ideology and seemed to deeply believe the stuff, Ann and I reflected the bumper-sticker conservatism of the younger set. Thinking back on my relationship with Ann now, it’s dismaying to realize how a certain kind of politics can corrupt every aspect of your life. As with my later relationship with Laura Blinded by the Right 181 Ingraham, Ann and I never had a serious conversation about politics, or anything else. Instead,

Download sample

Download