The Testament of Jessie Lamb: A Novel

The Testament of Jessie Lamb: A Novel

Jane Rogers

Language: English

Pages: 240

ISBN: 0062130803

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub

The Testament of Jessie Lamb: A Novel

Jane Rogers

Language: English

Pages: 240

ISBN: 0062130803

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


In a chilling future, one 16-year-old girl is driven to the ultimate act of heroism. The Testament of Jessie Lamb, longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, is the breakout novel from award-winning author Jane Rogers. Its cunningly drawn characters and riveting vision of a dystopic future fraught with difficult moral choices will make The Testament of Jessie Lamb an instant favorite for fans of Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go, Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games, and Brian K. Vaughan’s Y: The Last Man.

“The novel does not set up an elaborate apocalypse, but astringently strips away the smears hiding the apocalypses we really face. Like Jessie’s, it is a small, calm voice of reason in a nonsensical world.” —The Independent

Wood and Stone

Blue Boy

The New Republic

n+1, Issue 12: Conversion Experience (Fall 2011)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

was changing so quickly no one could guess what would happen next! After the Manchester rally YOFI was offered a big old pub, the Rising Sun, to turn into a centre where Lisa and Gabe and other motherless kids could live. I went along to help clear it out. Lisa and Gabe had their sleeping bags spread in one of the bedrooms, and were working on the room next to it, which would be theirs when it was finished. Other kids were stripping walls downstairs and ripping out the seats. They had music on

jumping into ice-water, I felt the skin on my face shrivelling in the cold. Then I was already at the stop before I remembered the bus strike. I’d walked to the clinic from the station, but now I could barely stand up straight. My heart was kicking my ribcage like a footballer; booting me, thwacking me, so I nearly overbalanced. I leant against the bus-shelter and tried to breathe steadily: in, out, in, out, trying to order the thing in my chest to stop pummelling me. I cupped my hands around my

music and we raided his parents’ booze cupboard, and Kaz passed round a spliff. I remember feeling very cunning when I thought of phoning my parents to say I was staying over at Sal’s. I remember snogging Danny who I don’t even like, and the next thing I remember is sitting propped against the bath feeling sick. Sal told me to put my fingers down my throat and I did puke a bit, but not as much as I needed to. I went down to Baz’s room in the cellar after that. He was there on his own playing his

past me, he yanked the front door open and then it slammed shut behind him. I froze. Surely he would come back. I couldn’t make head or tail of it. I tried to reason it out but every time I was blocked by how hateful he’d been. He didn’t care about me, he didn’t even like me, he just thought I was stupid. He thought what I was doing was shit. The injustice of it took my breath away. How I would feel if I was him? He tells me he’s volunteering for a drugs trial, to help solve MDS. The trial will

I could make myself a meal. I decided to light the fire in the sitting room, and to sleep on the sofa there where it was cosy. I brought down clean sheets and a duvet. They were damp but I could warm them by the fire. I spent some time looking through the kitchen drawers for candles. I couldn’t find any except half a packet of birthday-cake candles. It didn’t matter. I could keep the fire going until I was ready to sleep. I cleared the ashes out of the grate then went on a hunt for water to

Download sample

Download